First Post!

Hello lovelies! 

So a little bit about me. I am 25 years old and currently reside in Maine. I graduated from East Carolina University located in North Carolina in the spring of 2020. I stayed in my college town after I graduated because I had thought I was going to be able to have the opportunity to work with different sports groups around the area, however, due to the coronavirus this was not able to happen. So, I ended up getting a job as a leasing consultant. I did enjoy this job, although it wasn’t what I really wanted to be doing I made good enough money from it to be able to afford a place with a roommate. Later in the season when we weren’t as busy I got another job bartending and babysitting. These were only a couple times a week so it brought in enough money to cover the difference. I didn’t really have much time for myself, well I didn’t make much time for myself, and wasn’t really all that happy. The only thing that really helped me get through the days was a close friend of mine and my dog. The two of them helped me to escape from the stress and the day-to-day realities and the stresses of the future. Although it was only just a temporary relief it was good enough for me, well for the time being that is. Then December rolled around and my hours got cut at my leasing job as well as my bartending job due to seasonal and COVID-related reasons. I was now left without enough money to afford my apartment and groceries. So I had a decision to make.

Luckily for me I have a very supportive and loving family. Both my parents and grandparents said I could stay with them while I found a new job. The only issue with this is that my parents live in Maine in a small town and my Grandparents live in Missouri about 45 minutes out of Kansas City. Both great places that I love, but also so very far away from the place I had called my home for the last 3 and a half years. I decided to leave North Carolina and live with my grandparents because there is more opportunity in that area for jobs and career experiences and more activities that I can participate in once COVID decreases. 

On the first of January my dog and I, along with my brother and his girlfriend, drove my car from Maine to Missouri. It was a 25 hour drive and we did it straight through. It was quite a drive but definitely worth it. It took about a week for me to get settled in and then I began my job search. I got a job as a substitute teacher. 

I am not going to lie, it was quite a transition and there were many little breakdowns throughout the weeks. Slowly but surely I worked through the weeks and got better. Part of my writings will be addressing different ways I have gone about bettering myself and improving my mental and physical well-being. As well as how I am continuing to try different methods to better myself for the future. 

Recently, in July of 2021, I moved back up here to Maine and got a job working at a high school as an Ed Tech while I am getting my Master’s degree. All of this also came with many twists and turns and highs and lows. But I am in a much better place personally and can’t wait to see how much I grow.

I have also now been a vegan since February 2020 and am happy to share with you multiple recipes that I have found and made that are vegan, gluten-free, and absolutely delicious. I will also share my food journey that I have been experiencing for the last 7 years and what food choices have worked best for me and my family and the effects food has had on our health and well-being. 

Thank you for joining me on my journey!

-CurlyGirl Chronicles 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: